Head shot photo of Mayor Scott CirksenaMayor Cirksena was first elected to the Clive City Council in 2003 and was re-elected to a second four- year term in 2007.  He was subsequently elected to the position of Mayor in 2010 and re-elected to a second, and now third, four-year term in 2017.  He serves on the board of directors for Bravo Greater Des Moines and on the boards of the Metro Advisory Council, Dallas County Mayors, the Mid-Iowa Association of Local Governments, the Central Iowa Regional Drinking Water Commission, serves as Development Director for the Dallas County Foundation and is Vice President of the Clive Community Foundation.  Mayor Cirksena also served on the Governor’s Transportation 2020 Advisory Committee in 2011, the State of Iowa Climate Change Advisory Council/Transportation Land Use Committee in 2007 and the Des Moines International Airport Master Plan Review Committee in 2007.  He is a member of the Iowa Motor Truck Association, has served as President of the Clive Lions Club and currently serves as Immediate Past President.  He was also selected as Clive Citizen of the Year in 2007 and a Des Moines Business Record  Forty Under 40 award recipient in 2003.

Mayor Cirksena obtained a BA degree in Pre-Law from Grand View College, Des Moines, Iowa in 1988 and an MA degree in Management from Webster University, Kansas City, MO Campus, in 2001.

Scott and his wife Julie have a daughter, Mackenzie and son, Benjamin. 

On Council since: 2003
Mayor since: 2010
Mayoral term expires: 2021