Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission acts as an advisory board to the City Council on land use and zoning matters. The Planning and Zoning Commission holds public hearings as required by law and makes recommendations to the City Council on all matters relating to comprehensive plans, zoning district map amendments, zoning ordinance text amendments, urban renewal areas and other matters affecting land use and development within the City as provided in Chapter 414 of the Code of Iowa and the City Zoning Ordinance. 


The Planning and Zoning Commission meets on the first Thursday of each month or on call of the Chairman if a special meeting is necessary. The meetings are currently held via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however, when in-person meetings resume they will be held in the City of Clive Council Chambers at 1900 NW 114th St. at 5:30 p.m. The Zoom meeting ID and call-in number will be published on the agenda for the meeting. The presence of four members is necessary to constitute a quorum.    

Current Development Schedule

The seven members, residents of the city, each serve five-year terms on the Planning and Zoning Commission. Members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council.

Deb Havermann
Julie Correa
Brad Voorhees
Terrence Brown
Gary Benjamin
Terry Harrington
Michael Alowitz